Latter-day Saint temple reopenings: Here are the latest updates

The Ogden Utah Temple was one of the first temples to reopen after closing due to restrictions brought on by the pandemic.

The Ogden Utah Temple was one of the first temples to reopen after closing due to restrictions brought on by the COVID-19 pandemic. | Scott G Winterton, Deseret News

Four more temples of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints have moved to Phase 3 this week, offering proxy ordinances for the dead.

As of this month, all operating Latter-day Saint temples around the globe have reopened at some level of operation.

Latter-day Saint temples were closed in March 2020 to help stop the spread of COVID-19.

Which temples are moving to Phase 3?

These four temples changed to Phase 3 this week:

Caracas Venezuela Temple
Manaus Brazil Temple
Tijuana Mexico Temple
Vancouver British Columbia Temple

The online scheduling system for each temple will be activated on the Monday afternoon one week prior to the scheduled starting date.

Which temples are moving to Phase 2-B?

The Fortaleza Brazil Temple will move to Phase 2-B, offering proxy baptisms and all living ordinances, by Aug. 2.

Which temples have paused operations?

The Sydney Australia Temple joined this list of 10 temples that have paused operations due to local COVID-19 conditions:

Arequipa Peru Temple
Buenos Aires Argentina Temple
Córdoba Argentina Temple
Durban South Africa Temple
Johannesburg South Africa Temple
Port-au-Prince Haiti Temple
Santiago Chile Temple
Suva Fiji Temple
Sydney Australia Temple
Taipei Taiwan Temple

The last temple to open

The Kyiv Ukraine Temple, which has remained closed since March 2020, reopened in Phase 1 — only limited living husband-and-wife sealings — on July 5.

Latter-day Saint temples, which were closed on March 25, 2020, began reopening on May 11 under a four-phase approach.

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
The last temple of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints to reopen worldwide due to the COVID-19 pandemic will be the Kyiv Ukraine Temple.The latest numbers

The list of reopened temples currently includes 160 of the church’s 168 dedicated temples worldwide. As of July 26, there will be three temples in Phase 1, nine temples in Phase 2, 15 in Phase 2-B, 127 in Phase 3, 10 that are paused, and eight closed for major renovations.

  Emily Blunt rides Jungle Cruise for first time at Disneyland movie premiere

Aba Nigeria Temple (Phase 3)
Accra Ghana Temple (Phase 3)
Adelaide Australia Temple (Phase 3)
Albuquerque New Mexico Temple (Phase 3)
Anchorage Alaska Temple (Phase 3)
Apia Samoa Temple (Phase 3)
Arequipa Perú Temple (Paused)
Asunción Paraguay Temple (Phase 2-B)
Atlanta Georgia Temple (Phase 3)
Barranquilla Colombia Temple (Phase 2)
Baton Rouge Louisiana Temple (Phase 3)
Bern Switzerland Temple (Phase 3)
Billings Montana Temple (Phase 3)
Birmingham Alabama Temple (Phase 3)
Bismarck North Dakota Temple (Phase 3)
Bogotá Colombia Temple (Phase 2)
Boise Idaho Temple (Phase 3)
Boston Massachusetts Temple (Phase 3)
Bountiful Utah Temple (Phase 3)
Brigham City Utah Temple (Phase 3)
Brisbane Australia Temple (Phase 3)
Buenos Aires Argentina Temple (Paused)
Calgary Alberta Temple (Phase 3 as of July)
Campinas Brazil Temple (Phase 2)
Caracas Venezuela Temple (Phase 3)
Cardston Alberta Temple (Phase 3)
Cebu City Philippines Temple (Phase 3)
Cedar City Utah Temple (Phase 3)
Chicago Illinois Temple (Phase 3)
Ciudad Juárez Temple (Phase 2-B)
Cochabamba Bolivia Temple (Phase 2-B)
Colonia Juárez Chihuahua Mexico Temple (Phase 2-B)
Columbia River Washington Temple (Phase 3)
Columbia South Carolina Temple (Phase 3)
Columbus Ohio Temple (Phase 3)
Concepción Chile Temple (Phase 2)
Copenhagen Denmark Temple (Phase …read more

Source:: Deseret News – Utah News

(Visited 4 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *