The 10 Republicans who voted for impeachment, one of them from California

The House of Representatives’ vote Wednesday to impeach President Donald Trump passed 232-197, with 10 of the 211 Republicans joining their colleagues across the aisle.

One of the 10 is from California: David Valadao, who represents the 21st District, in the Central Valley. Valadao, 43, is in his fourth congressional term. He represented the 21st District for six years, lost the seat in 2018 to Democrat TJ Cox and reclaimed it in November.

Valadao was one of two California Republicans who last week opposed both objections to Joe Biden’s vote count in the presidential race; the other was Tom McClintock, whose district includes much of the Sierra Nevada.

California’s House delegation has 11 Republicans and 42 Democrats.

The nine other Republicans who voted to impeach are:

Adam Kinzinger, Illinois
Peter Meijer, Michigan
Fred Upton, Michigan
John Katko, New York
Anthony Gonzalez, Ohio
Tom Rice, South Carolina
Jaime Herrera Beutler, Washington
Dan Newhouse, Washington
Liz Cheney, Wyoming

Related Articles

Here’s why experts and lawmakers say you can’t compare Black Lives Matter protesters to the US Capitol mob

Letters: Save S.J. history | Inform, don’t enrage | Seek accountability | Money and politics | Subverting Constitution

Letters: Honors for officer | ‘Both sides’ | Carnage predictable | Accomplishments overshadowed | Election challenge precedent

Donald Trump impeached after Capitol riot in historic second charge

  Students write inaugural poems for poetry academy contest

Impeachment comes full circle for California Rep. Adam Schiff



…read more

Source:: The Mercury News – Latest News

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *